May 2017 Message

Dear Staff:

Congratulations to the Education Support Personnel who were recognized by the PTEA for their outstanding contributions within their individual buildings:

Administration Building, Mariya Zia; Arbor School, Rhonda Cremone; Children’s Corner, Alice Jackson; Conackamack School, Will Kunkel; Maintenance, Donnell Jackson; Eisenhower School, Phyllis Hriniak; Grandview School, Patricia Kalman; High School, Maureen Micales; King School, Lynn Sheats; Knollwood School, Madalena Mazzelli; Quibbletown School, Diane Hansen; Randolphville School, Peggy Martino; Schor School, Joanne Tomasso; Transportation, Allen (Sam) Skistimas.

This announcement comes at a very opportune time. Recently, I stood with our Board Leadership at the National School Board Association’s Annual Conference to accept its Grand Prize Magna Award for our “You, I, We Inspire” Program. We are the only school district in our enrollment category of 5,000-20,000 students to receive this award this year.

“You, I, We Inspire” is more than three pronouns and a verb. It is the feeling you get when you walk into our schools. And more often than not, support staff are the first people our students and visitors see when they enter our schools, support buildings, and buses: a school secretary signing students in and out or greeting parents; custodians clearing the walkways of ice and snow; bus drivers welcoming students every day; or aides ensuring every student has every opportunity to learn. 

A big part of the reason we won this award, and the reason our Inspire Campaign has seen such success in our schools, is all of you and the work you do. You model behavior for our students through your smiles and your encouraging words. You play a strong role in why our students want to come to school every day.

So I want to thank you for how you inspire me and the rest of our Administration to do our best for every student in the district. I am proud to be the superintendent of a district filled with such an inspiring staff.

Thank you all,

Teresa M.  Rafferty